#### APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES, BOARDS AND GROUPS FOR 2018-19

### **BODIES COVERED BY POLITICAL PROPORTIONALITY RULES**

# PERFORMANCE AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE – 7 Members and 1 independent member

Chair: Cllr P Harris Deputy Chair: Cllr T Sherlock

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC	independent member
Cllr G Hayes	Cllr D Bailey	Cllr M Biggin	D Barnett
Cllr M Simon	Cllr P Harris		
	Cllr K Mundry		
	Cllr T Sherlock		

# **Substitute Members for Performance and Overview Committee**

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR
Cllr N Jones	Cllr R Polhill

# **GOVERNANCE AND CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE – 6 Members and 2 independent members**

Chair: Cllr S Wright Deputy Chair: Cllr R Polhill

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC	independent
			member
Cllr E Johnson	Cllr D Beckett	Cllr D Mahon	D Barnett
Cllr N Jones	Cllr R Polhill		L Thomson
	Cllr S Wright		

#### **Substitute Members for Governance and Constitution Committee**

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC
Cllr B Dooley	Cllr J Mercer	Cllr M Biggin

# BRIGADE MANAGER'S PAY AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE - 7 Members

It is the usual convention that the Committee includes the Fire Authority Chair, Deputy Chair, and Group spokesperson(s).

Chair: Cllr B Rudd Deputy Chair: Cllr S Nelson

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR
Cllr E Johnson	Cllr D Flude
Cllr G Merry	Cllr S Nelson
Cllr S Parker	Cllr B Rudd
	Cllr P Carev

### **Substitute Members for Brigade Manager's Pay & Performance Committee**

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR
Cllr N Jones	Cllr T Sherlock

#### **ESTATES AND PROPERTY COMMITTEE - 6 Members**

Chair: Cllr J Mercer Deputy Chair: Cllr T Sherlock

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC	independent member
Cllr G Merry	Cllr J Mercer	Cllr D Mahon	D Barnett or
Cllr E Johnson	Cllr S Nelson		L Thomson
	Cllr T Sherlock		

**Substitute Members for Estates and Property Committee** 

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC
Cllr M Simon	Cllr K Mundry	Cllr M Barker

**Note:** Wherever possible, appointments to this body should include as many of the following Members of the Authority: Lead Members, Procurement Champion and Environment Champion.

#### JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE - 4 Members

Chair: Cllr R Polhill Deputy Chair: Cllr P Harris

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC
Cllr J Weatherill	Cllr P Harris	Cllr M Barker
	Cllr R Polhill	

#### **Substitute Members for Joint Consultative Committee**

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	DEMOCRATIC
Cllr E Johnson	Cllr P Carey	Cllr M Biggin

<sup>\*</sup> A Labour Chair is indicated on committees with an even number of seats to ensure that the Labour Group is able to have the casting vote. The alternative would be to increase seat numbers.

#### **BODIES NOT COVERED BY POLITICAL PROPORTIONALITY RULES**

# MEMBER TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT GROUP – 4 Members and 1 Independent Member

#### Chair: Cllr D Flude

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	independent members
Cllr M Simon	Cllr D Flude	L Thomson
Cllr S Parker	Cllr D Beckett	

#### **RISK MANAGEMENT BOARD – 2 Members**

CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR
Cllr J Weatherill	Cllr S Nelson

#### PHOENIX BOXING CLUB BOARD – 2 Members (from Warrington Members)

Members	Substitute Members
Cllr K Mundry	Cllr M Biggin
Cllr S Wright	Cllr P Carey

# **HEALTHY HEART RUNCORN TRAINING GYM BOARD – 1 Member (from Halton Members)**

Member	
Cllr S Nelson	

#### PENSION BOARD - 1 Member

Member
Member Champion for Pensions

#### **BODIES WHERE NO APPOINTMENTS ARE REQUIRED**

#### **CLOSURE OF ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE**

The Performance and Overview Committee sits as the Closure of Accounts Committee and meets once a year to close the Authority's accounts.

#### **STAFFING COMMITTEE - 7 Members**

The Brigade Managers' Pay and Performance Committee sits as the Staffing Committee.

#### **BUSINESS CONTINUITY COMMITTEE**

The membership of the Business Continuity Committee comprises the Chair, Deputy Chair, Group Spokesperson(s) and Lead Member(s). The Committee meets on an ad-hoc basis, as required.

#### **UNITARY PERFORMANCE MANAGEMENT GROUPS**

The Unitary Performance Area Groups are the performance delivery groups in each of the Unitary Performance Areas and are chaired by the local Unitary Performance Manager, and attended by the local Members for that area.

# **OUTSIDE BODIES - INFORMATION**

#### **REGIONAL APPOINTMENTS - NORTH WEST**

### (A) NORTH WEST FIRE FORUM

This forum oversees collaborative work being undertaken by the fire and rescue services in the North West.

# NB: 3 representatives only - Chair, Deputy Chair and Leader of Main Opposition

Members
Chair of Fire Authority
Deputy Chair of the Fire Authority
Leader of Main Opposition

### (B) NW FIRE CONTROL LTD - BOARD OF DIRECTORS

This Company is jointly owned by the Authority and Cumbria County Council, Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Authority and Lancashire Combined Fire Authority. It is responsible for the provision of call handling and mobilising services to the Authorities. It has a Board of Directors and each Authority is able to appoint two of its Members to the Board.

#### NB: 2 representatives only - Chair + 1

Members	
Chair of the Fire Authority	
Cllr S Nelson	

#### REGIONAL APPOINTMENTS - OTHER

#### (C) LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION (LGA) - FIRE COMMISSION

The Fire Commission provides a focus for the needs and concerns of fire authorities. All Fire and Rescue Services with full or corporate membership have the right to nominate a representative to this forum. At Cheshire this is usually the Chair of the Authority. Additional Members from Fire Authorities are appointed as necessary by the political groups to ensure political balance. The Commission meets quarterly and is an opportunity for Members to network and share information and ideas. The Commission is subject to the Constitution and Standing Orders of the Local Government Association.

Member
Chair of the Fire Authority

# (D) SAFER CHESHIRE EAST PARTNERSHIP

Safer Cheshire East Partnership is a statutory requirement under the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 and Cheshire Fire Authority is a statutory partner. The Fire Authority is represented by a Senior Officer and a (Cheshire East) Fire Authority Member is also appointed by the Fire Authority. The partnership meets on a 6-monthly basis and its key priorities include crime prevention, anti-social behaviour, preventing offending, road safety and domestic abuse.

NOTE: There is currently a large scale sub-regional review taking place on Community Safety Partnerships and Cheshire East are also reviewing the arrangements for the Safer Cheshire East Partnership.

Member	
Cllr B Dooley	

#### (E) SUB-REGIONAL PUBLIC LEADERSHIP BOARD

The Board provides strategic direction and focus on sub-regional matters for any sub-regional commissions, working groups, sub-committees, project steering groups or task and finish groups established to develop and implement sub-regional strategy. The Board comprises of elected Leaders of Cheshire East Council, Cheshire West and Chester Council and Warrington Borough Council, the Chairs of the Cheshire Police Authority and Cheshire Fire Authority, the Chair of Cheshire and Warrington Local Enterprise Partnership and the Chair of the Cheshire, Warrington & Wirral PCT Cluster. In addition the Leader of Halton Borough Council has membership of the Board in an Associate Capacity.

Member
Chair of the Fire Authority

# **MEMBER CHAMPION ROLES**

Equality and Diversity	Cllr J Mercer
Sits on Equality Task Group	
Health and Safety	Cllr D Flude
Sits on Health and Safety Committee	
·	
Information and ICT	Cllr R Polhill
Environment	Cllr T Sherlock
Environment	CIII I SHEHOCK
Procurement	Cllr J Mercer
Finance	Cllr G Merry
	Cllr S Nelson
Older Beenle	Clir P Dooloy
Older People	Cllr B Dooley
Young People	Cllr G Hayes
	-
Performance Management	Cllr P Harris
Commercial/Business Risk Reduction	Cllr S Parker
Commercial/Business Risk Reduction	CIII 3 Faikei
Industrial Relations (JCC Chair)	Cllr R Polhill
·	
Road Safety	Cllr M Simon
Pensions (Pension Board Chair)	Cllr G Merry
rensions (rension board onail)	Oiii O Merry
Sprinklers	Cllr S Nelson
-	